New Denmark Shire Council Gets to Work

Published on Wednesday, 20 October 2021 at 3:38:20 PM

The new look Denmark Shire Council sat for the first time yesterday at the October Ordinary Council Meeting presided over by Shire President Ceinwen Gearon.

At the commencement of the meeting, Cr Gearon was re-elected unopposed as the Denmark Shire President for another two years, with Cr Kingsley Gibson elected as the new Deputy Shire President.

Also seated around the table were newly elected Town Ward Councillors Donna Carman and Donald Clarke, Kent/Nornalup Councillor Jackie Ormsby and Scotsdale/Shadforth Ward Councillors Clare Campbell and Nathan Devenport, along with newly re-elected Scotsdale/Shadforth Ward Councillor Jan Lewis.

The new Councillors were sworn in just prior to the formal commencement of the Ordinary Council Meeting, joining Crs Gearon, Gibson and Phillips who will continue on Council until their terms expire in 2023.

Speaking during the meeting, Shire President Gearon congratulated the new and re-elected Councillors.

“I’m sure you will enjoy the experience of being on Council,” Cr Gearon said.

Out-going Councillors Allen, Bowley, Osborne and Seeney were also recognised and thanked for their service on Council.

“I want to acknowledge Cr Allen in particular who was a very capable and diligent Deputy Shire President and contributing member of Council.”

“I’d also like to acknowledge Crs Bowley, Osborne and Seeney who each played important roles on our Council during their many collective years of service as Councillors.”

See the October 2021 Local Government election results here

Back to All News