Planning Services

IMPORTANT UPDATE: As the COVID-19 environment continues to change and to maintain a safe working environment, the Shire of Denmark has implemented changes to planning and building service delivery.

Please continue to lodge your applications and make development enquiries, we are here to help.


About Planning Services

Planning Services, commonly referred to as the 'Town Planning Department', are responsible for the guidance of all development and land uses within the Shire of Denmark through implementation of orderly and property planning principles.

Planning Services staff provide advice to the public, ratepayers, builders and developers on development provisions within the Shire, how to submit applications for development approval and the planning process.


Planning Services Staff

Manager Sustainable Development: Craig Pursey 

Senior Town Planner: Jasmine Tothill

Town Planner: Will Hosken

Town Planner: Marieke De Vries (currently on leave)

Strategic Town Planner: Emmet Blackwell 

Customer Service Officer: Nicky Higgs


Planning or Building Applications

If you intend to submit an application, please do so by the following methods:


Please send your application to .

In Person 

You can submit your application at the Shire Administration office located at 953 South Coast Highway Denmark, Monday to Friday between 9.00am - 4.00pm. 


Please send your application via post to Shire of Denmark,  PO Box 183,  Denmark  WA  6333.


Please send your application on a USB via mail or drop in the letterbox located on the left-hand side of the Shire Administration Building main doors. Please state on the envelope who the USB is from.

All application forms can be located on the Shire’s website Application for Development Approval - Information



Planning and Building Services staff can be contacted via the following means: