Local Government Elections

Local Government Councillors are elected by people who live and do business in the local Council area and / or own property within the local government and have registered to vote.

Councillors play an important community leadership role and create policies and resolve decisions that the Council makes about what happens locally.

On this page:

Up-coming Local Government Election

Local government elections are held on the third Saturday of October, every two years.

The next Ordinary Local Government Election will be held in October 2025.

2023 Local Government Election Result

Declaration of Election 2023

Interested in becoming a Councillor?

Visit our Becoming a Councillor page.

Electoral Gifts

It is a statutory requirement for any gift over $300 (or a combination of gifts worth over $300) to be declared by the donor and the candidate who accepts the gift.

Declaration of gifts must be made by completing the form below and the completed form must be received by the CEO within 3 days.

Declaration of Gift Form

Voting Method

The Shire of Denmark runs each election by postal vote. All postal elections are managed by the WA Electoral Commission (WAEC) who appoint a Returning Officer for each election.

Enrolling to Vote

From 1 July 2023, Electors can choose to vote preferentially.  

Preferential Voting

More Information

For more information, please contact the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries (DLGSC) or the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC) by clicking on the one of the links below:

Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries