Community Citizen Award Winners Named

Published on Wednesday, 27 January 2021 at 3:34:28 PM

The 2020 Citizen of the Year Awards were announced at Tuesday’s Australia Day Twilight Family Concert at Berridge Park.
The 2020 Citizen of the Year is Belinda Ross, a tireless community volunteer.
Each week over many years, Belinda has volunteered to mark lines on multiple ovals to ensure junior, senior and women’s football, cricket, little athletics and running clubs can delivery their activities. Belinda regularly returns after games to clean up rubbish and to ensure green spaces are in a great condition for the delivery of sport and recreation. Belinda is a shining light among community volunteers and operates across all sports for the benefit of the community.
The 2020 Citizen of the Year – Senior award was presented to Chris Howden.
Nominated for his tireless efforts at the Denmark Airport, Chris was instrumental in upgrading the strip lighting and obtaining a grant to buy and fit LED strip lights for night operations. Chris does a great deal of the airport maintenance in coordination with the Denmark Airport Association.
Two winners were announced for 2020 Citizen of the Year – Youth, Tyler Hartfield and William Miller.
Tyler was nominated for demonstrating active citizenship by volunteering his time to advocate for people with disability. He has enhanced our community life by proving diversity and a different perspective to everyday life. Will was also nominated for his active citizenship in the community. He has volunteered with the Shire of Denmark bushfire brigades and the Denmark Volunteer Fire and Rescue service for a number of years. He has shown dedication to the community and the development of other young people.
The 2020 Community Group or Event of the Year award was presented to HorsePower Denmark.
HorsePower Denmark has contributed significantly to the lives of some of our community members. HorsePower Australia is a voluntary, charitable not for profit organisation that provides people with diverse abilities opportunities that empower them to break through physical, cognitive, emotional and social barriers.
The 2020 Junior Sportsperson of the Year (under 18 years of age) award was presented to Lucia Edwards and the 2020 Senior Sportsperson of the Year was Maureen Cowdell. Kellee Hick was presented the 2020 Service to Sport Award.

Back to All News