Bush Fire Brigade Districts

The map below shows the volunteer bush fire brigade boundaries in the Shire of Denmark

Bush Fire Brigades Districts Map

Bush Fire Brigades & Fire Control Officers

Like most country emergency services, the Shire of Denmark Bush Fire Brigades rely on volunteers to dedicate their time to protect their community from bush fires.

Are you interested in becoming a Volunteer?

Chief Bush Fire Control Officer Lez Baines 0428 788 008
Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer

Nigel Marsh

0408 956 133
Community Emergency Services Coordinator Mark Guerin 0428 913 937
Ranger Services (08) 9848 0300 (option 2)
Carmarthen Craig Hughes 0407 223 297
Denmark Volunteer Fire & Rescue (Town BFB)

Darin Hockley

Paul Harbron

0417 968 776

0438 916 093

East Denmark Chris Hoare 0447 482 244
Harewood Ian Thompson 0438 318 959
Hazelvale Brian Vigus 0417 188 158
Kordabup Craig Lilley 0417 746 848
Mehniup Paul Moncrieff 0413 117 192
Mt Lindesay Murray Brooker 0429 094 136
Nornalup Neville Brass (08) 9840 1144
Ocean Beach Hank Alberts 0412 080 262
Owingup Bryce Edwards 0427 711 408
Parryville Not active
Peaceful Bay Trevor Brown 0438 967 258
Scotsdale Geoff Bowley 0429 875 850
Shadforth Geoff Bowley 0429 875 850
Somerset Hill Steve Yates 0414 807 077
Tingledale Alex Williams 0417 188 843
William Bay Simon Coppock 0467 891 013

Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade Assisted Control Burns

The Shire of Denmark Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades are able to assist with controlled burning to reduce fuel levels on your property. This service is provided for an 'at cost' fee which is returned directly to the Brigade. By using your local bushfire brigade to conduct a controlled burn, you can ensure the burn is carried out by experienced firefighters, in a safe manner, using modern fire fighting equipment. 

To view the Shire of Denmark's standard operating procedure for hazard reduction burning on private property click here

Fees and Charges

To apply for a Hazard Reduction Burn on your property download and complete the application form with your Local Fire Control Officer and contact the Shire’s Community Emergency Services Coordinator on (08) 9848 0300

Application Form