Shire of Denmark

Charter



BUSH FIRE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Bushfire Advisory Committee

1.0 NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Bush Fire Advisory Committee, hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The Committee is established pursuant to the Local Government Act 1995.

3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the Shire of Denmark local government area.

4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This Committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the s 5.8—5.25 of the Local Government Act 1995and s 67 of the Bushfires Act 1954.

The Committee will provide recommendations in accordance with Section 67 of the Bush Fires Act 1954 to Council on Policy, Standards and Procedures on all matters of fire protection within the Council area.

5.0 VISION

To make the Shire of Denmark a safe community by managing the risk of fire through the delivery and implementation of fire prevention, preparedness, response and recovery strategies.

6.0 TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 6.1 To recommend and regularly review Council's policies relating to:
 - a) The preventing, controlling and extinguishing of bush fires;
 - b) The planning of the layout of fire-breaks in the district;
 - c) Prosecutions for breaches of the Bush Fires Act 1954; and
 - d) The formation of bush fire brigades and the grouping thereof.
- 6.2 To ensure the co-operation, consistency and co-ordination of bush fire brigades in their operations, activities and training by developing and reviewing Standard Operating Procedures.

- 6.3 Refer any new or amended Standard Operating Procedure to the Chief Executive Officer for review and approval, in accordance with Council Delegation 1.4.8.
- 6.4 To consider and make recommendations to Council on any other matter brought to the Committee for consideration.

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Committee will comprise of a total of 10 voting members, including at least one councillor in accordance with s 67(2) of the Bush Fires Act 1954)

Voting Members:

- 2 x Councillor Delegates
- Chief Bush Fire Control Officer
- Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer
- Fire Weather Officer
- Up to 4 Fire Control Officers
- Denmark Volunteer Fire & Rescue Service Representative

Attendees (Non-Voting):

- Community Emergency Services Manager (Secretary)
- Department of Fire & Emergency Services (DFES) representative or Proxy
- Department of Biodiversity Conservation and Attractions Parks & Wildlife Service representative or Proxy
- Other Agencies and strategic organisations or businesses such as major tree plantations as required.

Councillor and Fire Control Officer membership is valid for two years until the next Ordinary Local Government Election, unless the person resigns or the Committee is disbanded, whichever happens first. If a member Fire Control Officer ceases to be a Fire Control Officer during their term of membership, the position becomes vacant.

Nominations for Fire Control Officer vacancies will be called, and the Chief Bush Fire Control Officer will make recommendations to the Chief Executive Officer after consultation with the Brigades. The final appointment will be made by council by an absolute majority (refer to s 5.10 of the Local Government Act 1995).

Nothing prevents a previous member from re-nominating.

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Meetings:

The Committee shall meet as often as its Presiding Person and/or the Committee decides, but no less than four times per year.

8.2 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

8.3 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995with all voting members of the Committee entitled to one vote and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the Local Government Act).

8.4 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995 and associated regulations

8.5 Presiding Person

The Presiding Person and Deputy Presiding Person are to be appointed by the Council, in accordance with s 5.12 of the Local Government Act 1995. Pursuant to Council's Meeting Framework Policy member who is a councillors should be the Presiding Person

8.6 Who acts if no presiding member?

Shall be in accordance with s 5.14 of the Local Government Act.

8.7 Meetings

Meetings are not open to the public.

8.8 Public Question Time

Nil.

8.9 Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Code of Conduct for Councillors, Committee Members and Candidates.

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated.

8.10 Secretary

The Community Emergency Services Manager will fulfil the role of non-voting secretary.

8.11 Standing Ex-Officio Members

The Committee is authorised to co-opt standing ex-officio members not listed under the general membership as non voting members.

8.12 Meeting Attendance Fees Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil

Adopted by Council 29 April 2025 / Resolution No. 120425