Shire of Denmark Charter



ROADWISE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Roadwise Advisory Committee, established by Council pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

1.0 NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Roadwise Advisory Committee, hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The Committee is established pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This Committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, sections 5.8 through to 5.25.

5.0 VISION

Our vision is to contribute to a coordinated approach to reduce the amount of road deaths and road related serious injuries in the Shire of Denmark.

6.0 TERMS OF REFERENCE

To advise Council on matters relating to:

- Road Safety Objectives
- State Road Safety Strategy
- Local Road Safety Action Plan
- Community Road Safety Committee
- Community Road Safety Grants Program

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Committee will comprise of a total of 101 members consisting of;

- 1 x Councillor
- 1 x Denmark Police Representative
- 1 x Denmark Health Service Representative
- 1 x WALGA Roadwise Representative
- 1 x Denmark Primary School P & C Association Representative
- 1 x Denmark High School Representative
- 1 x St John Ambulance Representative
- 1 x Main Roads WA Great Southern Representative
- 1 x Department of Transport Representative

1 x Denmark Over 50's Association Representative 1 x Denmark Agricultural College Representative

Vacancies for Community representatives will be advertised in a local newspaper circulating within the district, with selection and appointment being made by Council upon recommendation of the Committee.

Community representation is valid for two years until the person resigns, the Committee is disbanded or at the next ordinary Election Day, whichever happens first. Nothing prevents an existing members from re-nominating.

To encourage ongoing freshness of approach and ideas Council encourages organisations to nominate a different member representative of their group every 2 years.

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Annual General Meeting:

Nil

8.2 Committee Meetings:

Meetings shall be held not more frequently than every 2 months, unless a special meeting of the Committee is called by specific resolution of the Committee for the specified purpose(s).

8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the RoadWise Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the Committee entitled and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the LGA). Officers of Council servicing the Committee are not entitled to vote unless specifically approved under the charter.

8.5 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Who acts if no presiding member?

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

8.7 Meetings

Meetings shall be generally open to the public pursuant to the Local Government Act, Section 5.23.

8.8 Public Question Time

The Committee if empowered with any delegated powers will allow for Public Question Time at the start of its Meetings in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.24.

8.9 Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Shire of Denmark Code of Conduct (amended from time to time);
- · Rules of Conduct Legislation; and
- Clause 34C of the Local Government (Administration Regulations) 1996;

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated, dependent upon whether they are a Councillor, Employee of Local Government or a Community Member (community members are not bound to declare impartiality interests, unlike Councillors and Employees of Local Government nor are they bound by the Rules of Conduct Legislation).

8.10 Secretary

The Director of Infrastructure Services or that Officer's nominee will fulfil the role of non-voting secretary who will also be responsible for preparation and distribution of agendas and minutes.

8.11 Presiding Person

The members will appoint the Presiding Person and if required Deputy of the Committee pursuant to the Local Government Act 1995, Section 5.12 and pursuant to Council Policy P040235 the Committee should elect an Elected Member to the role of Presiding Person.

8.12 Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil.

Adopted by Council 220 October 20135 / Resolution No. 271013XXX

Formatted: Highlight