Shire of Denmark Charter



LOCAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Local Emergency Management Committee, established by Council pursuant to Section 38 (1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

1.0 NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

ESTABLISHMENT 2.0

The Committee is established pursuant to Section 38(1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005.

3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, the Emergency Management Act 2005 and the State Emergency Management Policy No. 2.5.

5.0 VISION

Our vision is for the Shire of Denmark's residents, ratepayers and businesses to be adequately protected, risks are minimised and recovery operations coordinated swiftly and efficiently.

TERMS OF REFERENCE

To implement the objectives of the Western Australian Emergency Management Arrangements Public Statement number 7, that is;

- 6.1 To advise and assist the local government in ensuring that local emergency management arrangements are established for its district;
- 6.2 To liaise with public authorities and other persons in the development, review and testing of local emergency management arrangements; and
- 6.3 To carry out other emergency management activities as directed by the **State Emergency** Management Committee (SEMC) or prescribed by the Emergency Management Act or Regulations.

- 6.4 Prepare an annual report on Committee activities for submission to the District Emergency Management Committee.
- 6.5 The local emergency management arrangements are to set out
 - a. the local government's policies for emergency management;
 - b. the roles and responsibilities of public authorities and other persons involved in emergency management in the local government district;
 - c. provisions about the coordination of emergency operations and activities relating to emergency management performed by the persons mentioned in paragraph (b);
 - d. a description of emergencies that are likely to occur in the local government district;
 - e. strategies and priorities for emergency management in the local government district;
 - f. other matters about emergency management in the local government district prescribed by the regulations; and
 - g. other matters about emergency management in the local government district the local government considers appropriate.
 - h. Local emergency management arrangements are to be consistent with the State emergency management policies and State emergency management plans.
 - i. Local emergency management arrangements are to include a recovery plan and the nomination of a local recovery coordinator.

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

7.1 Tenure of Membership:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, section 5.11.

That in accord with section 38 (1) of the Emergency Management Act 2005, membership of the LEM-Committee be as follows:

POSITION	ORGANISATION
Voting Members	
Shire President / Chairperson	Shire of Denmark
Officer in Charge	Denmark Police Service
Officer in Charge	
Chief Bush Fire Control Officer	Bushfire Advisory Committee
Director of Nursing	Denmark District Hospital
Centre Manager	Walpole Silver Chain
Unit Manager	Denmark State Emergency Service
Unit Manager	Walpole State Emergency Service
Officer in Charge	
Officer in Charge	Walpole St John Ambulance
Commander	Denmark Volunteer Marine Sea Rescue
Commander	Peaceful Bay Vol. Marine Sea Rescue
Commander	
Captain	Denmark Fire & Rescue Service
District Operations Officer	Dept. of Environment &
ConservationParks & Wildlife	
District Officer	Dept. of Child Protection

Non Voting Members

Community Emergency Services Manager..... Shire of Denmark / DFES

With the exception of the Shire President (as this is covered by the Local Government Act 1995), each position holder is entitled to nominate a Deputy Delegate from their organisation for an individual meeting.

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Annual General Meeting:

Nil

8.2 Committee Meetings:

Meetings shall be held at least four times per year or more often as determined by the Committee and shall follow the minimum procedures as set out in State Emergency Management Policy 2.5 (Flowcharts Appendix 1 and 2 attached).

Meetings shall be generally open to the public pursuant to section 5.23 of the Local Government Act 1995.

8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the Local Emergency Management Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the Committee entitled and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the LGA).

8.5 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Who acts if no presiding member?

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

8.7 Meetings

Meetings shall be generally open to the public pursuant to the Local Government Act, Section 5.23.

8.8 Public Question Time

The Committee if empowered with any delegated powers will allow for Public Question Time at the start of its Meetings in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.24.

8.9 Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Shire of Denmark Code of Conduct (amended from time to time);
- Rules of Conduct Legislation; and
- Clause 34C of the Local Government (Administration Regulations) 1996;

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated, dependent upon whether they are a Councillor, Employee of Local Government or a Community Member (community members are not bound to declare impartiality interests, unlike Councillors and Employees of Local Government nor are they bound by the Rules of Conduct Legislation).

8.10 Secretary

The Director of Community & Regulatory Services or nominee (Community Emergency Services Manager) will fulfil the role of non-voting secretary who will also be responsible for preparation and distribution of agendas and minutes.

8.11 Chairperson

The Chairperson of the Committee is appointed by the Local Government pursuant to Section 38(3) (a) of the Emergency Management Act 2005. Where Council has failed to nominate a Chairperson, the default Chair will be the current serving Shire President of the Council.

8.12 Standing Ex-Officio Members

The Committee is authorised to co-opt standing ex-officio members not listed under the general membership as nonvoting members.

8.13 Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil

Adopted by Council 220 October 20135 / Resolution No. 241013 XXX

Formatted: Highlight