



WASTE MANAGEMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Waste Management Advisory Committee, established by Council pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

1.0 NAME

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Waste Management Advisory Committee, hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The Committee is established on pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This Committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, sections 5.8 through to 5.25.

5.0 VISION

Our vision is for the Shire of Denmark to be recognized as a community striving towards zero waste through recycling & reuse.

6.0 TERMS OF REFERENCE

Subject to the constraints of Council's Budget, Policies and Procedures and compliance with the Local Government Act 1995 and associated Regulations;

- 6.1 Implementing the Strategic Waste Minimisation Plan 2008-2013.
- 6.2 Establishing our communities Landfill Waste options now and into the future with specific recommendations.
- 6.3 Investigating the future waste need of Denmark, Nornalup, Bow Bridge and Peaceful Bay villages and associated communities and whether this can be accommodated through the regional participation with the Shires of Cranbrook, Plantagenet, Manjimup and/or the City of Albany or with its own locally based suitable site.
- 6.4 Provide advice on operational matters pertaining to waste or recycling if requested by Council or Shire Officers.
- 6.5 Oversight of compliance with the licencing requirements of the Peaceful Bay and Denmark waste sites.

20 October 2015 - Attachment 8.11

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Committee will comprise of a total of 4 members consisting of;

4 x Councillors

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Annual General Meeting: Nil

8.2 Committee Meetings:

Meetings shall be held not more frequently than every 2 months, unless a special meeting of the Committee is called by specific resolution of the Committee for the specified purpose(s).

8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the Cemetery Advisory Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the Committee entitled and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the LGA).

8.5 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Who acts if no presiding member?

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

8.7 Meetings

Meetings shall generally be open to the public pursuant to the Local Government Act, section 5.23.

8.8 Public Question Time

The Committee if empowered with any delegated powers will allow for Public Question Time at the start of its meetings in accordance with the Local Government Act, section 5.24.

8.9 Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Shire of Denmark Code of Conduct (amended from time to time);
- Rules of Conduct Legislation; and
- Clause 34C of the Local Government (Administration Regulations) 1996;

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated, dependent upon whether they are a Councillor, Employee of Local Government or a Community Member (community members are not bound to declare impartiality interests, unlike Councillors and Employees of Local Government nor are they bound by the Rules of Conduct Legislation).

M:\Executive Assistant\Agendas & Minutes\2015\20 October 2015 - Special Meeting\Draft Charters 2015 - Special Meeting - word versions\Waste Management Advisory Committee

8.10 Secretary

The Director of Infrastructure Services or that Officer's nominee will fulfil the role of nonvoting secretary who will also be responsible for preparation and distribution of Agendas and Minutes.

8.11 Presiding Person

The members will elect the Presiding Person and Deputy of the Committee pursuant to the Local Government Act 1995, Section 5.12 and pursuant to Council Policy P040235 the Committee should elect an Elected Member to the role of Presiding Person.

8.12 Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE Nil.

Adopted by Council 22 October 2013 / Resolution No. 291013