Citizen and Community Group or Event Award

The Auspire - Australia Day Council WA, Community Citizen of the Year Awards are presented by Local Governments within local communities across Western Australia on Australia Day. 

The Awards reward and recognise individuals and organisations making a notable contribution during the current year, and/or to those who have given outstanding service over a number of years.

For more information, including how to nominate, please visit

The categories are;

  • Community Citizen of the Year;
  • Community Citizen of the Year (Senior) (person over 65 years)
  • Community Citizen of the Year – (Youth) (person under 25 years); and
  • Active Citizenship (Group or Event) (to recognise a community group or event)

View the Honour Board

Nominations for the Community Citizen of the Year awards are NOW CLOSED.
For more information, contact the Shire of Denmark Community Development Officer Rosie Arnephie at or (08) 9848 0300.

Sportsperson of the Year Award

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards recognise individuals who have made a significant contribution to local sports in areas such as fundraising, volunteer service, umpiring, coaching, sportsmanship and individual sporting achievements.

Nominations are now being called in the following categories;

  • Service to Sport
  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year
  • Senior Sportsperson’s of the Year

Nominations are OPEN NOW and will close at 4pm Friday, 26 November 2021. Download the nomination form 
For information on how to nominate someone, please contact Shire of Denmark Club Development Officer Nicky Higgs at or (08) 9848 0300.

View the Honour Board