SHIRE OF DENMARK ACCESSIBILITY WORKING GROUP



Terms of Reference

This Terms of Reference defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Accessibility Working Group.

1.0 NAME

Formerly the Disability Services Advisory Committee, the name of the group shall be the Shire of Denmark Accessibility Working Group, hereinafter referred to as the AWG.

2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The AWG is established pursuant to Council Resolution No. 121223.

3.0 DISTRICT

The AWG shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This AWG is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, sections 5.8 through to 5.25.

5.0 VISION

For the Shire of Denmark to be an accessible and inclusive community for people with disability, their families and carers.

6.0 OBJECTIVE

- 6.1 To support and recommend to Council, action and policies relating to the provision of services for people with disability in the Denmark community.
- 6.2 To advise Council on matters effecting people with disability generally.
- 6.3 To oversee the implementation, reviews and evaluation of the Shire of Denmark's Disability Access and Inclusion Plan and make recommendations to Council on matters relating to the Plan.
- 6.4 Assist Council with the implementation of Recognition of People with Disability Policy P110709 and review the Policy at regular intervals to ensure its ongoing accuracy and relevance.

7.0 MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the AWG will comprise of a total of 8 members consisting of;

- 1 x Councillor
- 2 x Community Professional (Private Sector)
- 1 x National Disability Insurance Agency representative
- 5 x Community Members

Vacancies for community representatives will be appointed by the Chief Executive Officer upon recommendation from the Manager Community Services.

Representation is valid for two years until the next Ordinary Local Government Election or until the person resigns or the AWG is disbanded, whichever happens first. Nothing prevents a previous member re-nominating.

To encourage ongoing freshness of approach and ideas Council encourages organisations to nominate a different member representative of their group every 2 years.

8.0 MEETINGS

8.1 Annual General Meeting:

Nil

8.2 Meetings:

Meetings shall be held not more frequently than every 2 months, unless a special meeting of the Working Group is required, as determined by the members or Secretary.

8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the AWG is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Working Group, whether vacant or not.

8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the AWG entitled to one vote. Shire Officers servicing the AWG are not entitled to vote.

8.5 Notes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Presiding Person

The members will elect the Presiding Person.

8.7 Who acts if no presiding member?

Members will nominate one of themselves.

8.8 Meetings

Meetings are not open to the public.

8.9 Public Question Time

Nil.

8.10 Members Conduct

Members of the AWG are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Code of Conduct for Council members, Committee Members and Candidates.

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated.

8.11 Secretary

The Manager Community Services or that officer's appointed nominee will fulfil the role of non-voting secretary who will also be responsible for preparation and distribution of agendas and notes.

8.12 Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil.

Adopted by Council 12 December 2023 / Resolution No. 121223