# Shire of Denmark Charter



# SUSTAINABILITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

This charter document defines the membership, authority, purpose, operational guidelines, responsibilities and resources of the Shire of Denmark Sustainability Advisory Committee, established by Council pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

# **1.0 NAME**

The name of the Committee shall be the Shire of Denmark Sustainability Advisory Committee, hereinafter referred to in its abbreviated form as the Committee.

#### 2.0 ESTABLISHMENT

The Committee is established on pursuant to Section 5.8 of the Local Government Act 1995.

#### 3.0 DISTRICT

The Committee shall operate within the local government boundaries of the Shire of Denmark.

#### 4.0 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

This Committee is established with the guiding principles in accordance with the Local Government Act 1995, sections 5.8 through to 5.25.

#### 5.0 VISION

Our vision is for the Shire of Denmark and the community to be recognised as leaders in sustainability.

#### 6.0 TERMS OF REFERENCE

- 6.1 Advise on sustainable issues and promote sustainable practices within the Shire of Denmark, which may include but are not limited to:
  - Water;
  - Land;
  - Climate change;
  - Biodiversity;
  - Built environment; and,
  - Waste management and resource recovery.
- 6.2 Assist Council to implement and achieve the relevant Objectives and Goals of the Strategic Community Plan as they relate to sustainability matters.
- 6.3 Provide strategic direction to Council on sustainability matters.
- 6.4 Provide a forum for discussion on sustainability issues relevant to the Shire of Denmark and the community.
- 6.5 Assist Council to integrate sustainability into Council policy, plans and operations.

#### 7.0 MEMBERSHIP

Membership of the Committee will comprise of a total of 7 members consisting of;

3 x Councillors

7 x Community Members (maximum)

Vacancies for Community representatives will be advertised in a local newspaper circulating within the district, with selection and appointment being made by Council upon recommendation of the Committee.

Community representation is valid for two years until the person resigns, the Committee is disbanded or at the next ordinary Election Day, whichever happens first. Nothing prevents an existing member from re-nominating.

#### 8.0 MEETINGS

# **8.1** Annual General Meeting:

Nil

# **8.2** Committee Meetings:

Meeting frequency shall be decided by the Committee at its first meeting but not held more frequently than every 3 months, unless a special meeting of the Committee is called by specific resolution of the Committee for the specified purpose(s).

#### 8.3 Quorum:

The quorum for any meeting of the Committee is at least 50% of the number of member positions prescribed on the Committee, whether vacant or not.

# 8.4 Voting:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21 with all members of the Committee entitled and required to vote (subject to financial and proximity interest provisions of the LGA).

#### 8.5 Minutes:

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

# 8.6 Who acts if no presiding member?

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

#### 8.7 Meetings

Meetings shall generally be open to the public pursuant to the Local Government Act, section 5.23.

# **8.8** Public Question Time

The Committee if empowered with any delegated powers will allow for Public Question Time at the start of its meetings in accordance with the Local Government Act, section 5.24.

#### **8.9** Members Conduct

Members of the Committee are bound by the:

- provisions of Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995;
- Shire of Denmark Standing Orders Local Law 2000;
- Shire of Denmark Code of Conduct (amended from time to time);
- Rules of Conduct Legislation; and
- Clause 34C of the Local Government (Administration Regulations) 1996;

with respect to their conduct and duty of disclosure of financial, proximity or impartiality interests, to the extent stated, dependent upon whether they are a Councillor, Employee of Local Government or a Community Member (community members are not bound to declare impartiality interests, unlike Councillors and Employees of Local Government nor are they bound by the Rules of Conduct Legislation).

# 8.10 Secretary

The Director of Planning and Sustainability or that Officer's nominee will fulfil the role of non-voting secretary who will also be responsible for preparation and distribution of Agendas and Minutes.

# 8.11 Presiding Person

The members will elect the Presiding Person and Deputy of the Committee pursuant to the Local Government Act 1995, Section 5.12 and pursuant to Council Policy P040235 the Committee should elect an Elected Member to the role of Presiding Person.

# **8.12** Meeting Attendance Fees

Nil.

# 9.0 DELEGATED AUTHORITY OF THE COMMITTEE

Nil.

Adopted by Council 26 July 2016 / Resolution No. 170716